Olympics 2021 India

tokyo olympics 2020

Olympics or the Olympics Games are the leading international sporting events that feature summer and winter sports competitions. Thousands of athletes from all around the world participate in varieties of competitions presented by the Olympics. More than 200 nations participate in these games. The Olympics games are held after every four years, alternating between the summer and winter Olympics every two tears in the four-year span.

After every span of four years the Olympics games are hosted by a different country. In the year 2021, the Olympics games are hosted by Tokyo (2020). These games started on 23rd July 2021 and will end on 8th August 2021.

Professional athletes are trying their best with enthusiasm to win medals for their country. India is now at 48th position with 1 bronze in Badminton (Women’s singles) by PV Sindhu, 1 silver in Weightlifting (Women’s 49kg) by C. Mirabai, 1 bronze in Boxing (Women’s welterweight) by L. Borgohain, 1 bronze by India’s Hockey team (Men’s tournament), 1 silver in Wrestling (Men’s freestyle 57kg) by Ravi Kumar Dahiya, 1 bronze in Wrestling again (Men’s freestyle 65kg) by Bajrang Punia, and finally one gold in Men’s Javelin throw by Neeraj Chopra.

  1. PV Sindhu

Pusarla Venkata Sindhu was born in 5th July 1995. She is an Indian professional badminton player. Sindhu has won various medals in the course of her career in multiple tournaments including the Olympics and on the BWF circuit including a gold at the 2019 World Champion. PV Sindhu has now become the first Indian to become the Badminton World Champion and only the second individual athlete from India to win two consecutive medals at the Olympic Games. She started her career in 2011 and has a career record of 344 wins.

2. C. Mirabai

Saikhom Mirabai Chanu was born in 8th August 1994. She is an Indian weightlifter and also the one who won the silver at the 2020 Summer Olympics in Women’s 49kg for India.  Mirabai has won the World’s Championships and multiple medals at the Commonwealth games. She was also awarded the Padma Shri by the Government of India for her divine contribution to the sport. In 2018, Mirabai was awarded the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna by the Government of India.

3. L. Borgohain

Lovlina Borgohain was born on 2nd October 1997. She is an Indian boxer and now an Olympic medal winner. Borgohain is the only third boxer to win a medal at the Olympics. She has also won a bronze medal at the 2018 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships and the 2019 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships. She has become the sixth person from Assam to receive Arjuna Award.

4. Indian Men’s Hockey Team

After a long wait from 1980, India finally won a medal in the games by beating Germany by 5-4. The Men’s Hockey definitely made history here. There were 10 outstanding players in the team- Amit Rohidas, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, and Birendra Lakra.

5. Ravi Kumar Dahiya

Ravi Kumar was born on 12 December 1997, he is an Indian freestyle wrestler who has won a silver medal at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 in the 57kg category. He has also won a bronze in World Wrestling Championships and a two-time Asian Champion. This Olympic winner started wrestling in his early teens and won a silver in the 2015 Junior World Wrestling Championships at Salvador de Bahia in the 55kg freestyle category.

6. Bajrang Punia

He is born on 26 February 1994, Punia is an Indian freestyle wrestler. He is the only Indian wrestler who has won 3 medals at the World Wrestling Championships. The wrestler won the bronze by ending the match by 8-0, playing against Kazakhstan’s Daulet Niyazbekov at the Tokyo Olympics 2020. he began wrestling at the young age of seven and was encouraged to pursue further in this sport by his father.

7. Subedar Neeraj Chopra

After winning India’s most awaited gold medal for the first time, Chopra has now been nicknamed the Golden Boy. The gold medalist was born on 24 December 1997. He is an Indian javelin thrower and still in his career span he has won a total of six gold medals in major tournaments across the world and is also the first track and field athlete to win a gold medal for India at the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *